Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mikrotik Router Setup
Hi Folks
Newbie here some great information on this site. Just received the MikroTik LTE12 router just trying to set it up. Is there any guides anywhere for a quick setup. Apologies if there is something in the posts.
Thanks John
To configure the router, you can either use the web interface (192.168.88.1) or the Winbox application. With Winbox, put in 192.168.88.1 for the "Connect to" field, "admin" for the username and a blank password.
https://mikrotik.com/download

Go into the Quick Set tab (top-left icon in Winbox).

At the top-right of the screen in the web interface (top-left in Winbox), choose "LTE AP Dual".

Fill out the following fields:
  • Country - Choose your country.
  • WiFi Password - Don't leave it blank! This will be the password for connecting Wi-Fi devices.
  • PIN - SIM card pin, leave blank if the SIM doesn't have a pin.
  • APN - Network APN. For Irish networks, see this page. If you can't find the APN for your network, try leaving it as "internet".
  • If you have external 4G antennas attached, change the antenna setting to "External both".

Click OK and check for connectivity.

To access the LTE configuration or check signal readings, go into the Interfaces menu, double-click on 'lte1'. The General tab lets you set the network mode, APN, bands, etc. and the Cellular tab shows the signal readings.

To set a password to access the router's configuration, go into the System menu -> Password.
Thanks Sean that's perfect one slight problem I seem to have screwed things up cant connect to router by any of the ways you suggested. Tried the holding reset button etc but can't connect. Do you think I would need to go down the Netinstall route seems a bit complicated. This router is certainly not a plug and play setup.?
I think you may have put it in bridge mode. The Quick Set drop top down is set to by default from what I recall.